Books: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

And I will believe the same about you.

I bought this book on a whim since I saw my students reading it. They told me about an upcoming movie for it with Emma Watson as one of the characters in it. Well I thought to myself that I should get a new book for me on my birthday and I found out that this book is just perfect for me.

Growing up is really never easy for anyone. Finding your identity while trying to meet expectations is really just too much during such an emotional stage. I really never get the chance to find my identity during those years because I was too busy meeting expectations set by people. In retrospect, there might have been regrets that I may have wanted to fit in with what people want of me instead of what I really want. However seeing myself now makes me think that there might have been a reason why I turned out to be the person that I am today.

The story itself was actually relatable in a lot of aspects, from growing pains, depression, sex and of course music and books. I  just wanted to emphasize that the parts wherein Charlie was discussing about music and books were my most favorite. Because these were the things that made me feel in a certain way rebellious to what others are expecting of me. Besides that, these things defined a lot of who am I today.

Looking back at my growing years and celebrating my 25th birthday today makes me want to do something about my life. I may be experiencing some sort of quarter-life crisis like I’ve said before but I am just glad of the new people that I have met made my life a lot better or in Charlie’s own words “infinite”.

I am still waiting for another moment wherein I will feel infinite but for now here I am enjoying my birthday and looking forward for another year and knowing that things will be better.

P.S.

The book made me want to write regularly again. So for all those reading this entry, please do encourage me to write more and hopefully you’ll listen more to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

