Lessons from the Kitchen: Give me Bananas and I’ll make Crepe

It started with pancakes for afternoon snacks, I had 2 or 3 when I saw the bananas and an idea came to me. I took the bananas, sliced them and placed them on a thin sheet of pancake. After putting butter and letting it cool a little, I added some peanut butter on top and here is the finished product.

A little artsy fartsy on the presentation but I think it tastes  just as good as it looks. Actually it was the same plate that I used for the first 2 or 3 pancakes and some crumbs are really noticeable. So excuse the crumbs and let me talk about this.

Cooking is actually one of the three things that I really enjoy doing (the other 2 being drawing and magic). It is really some sort of therapy for me for boredom. The heat of the kitchen, the aroma of the food, the tastes and the way things go together. create this multi-sensory experience that I couldn’t find anywhere else. I don’t think I can get the same high with any other activity.

I love to cook because I love to eat and I think the kitchen has taught me a lot of things that helped me deal with life, the simplest being, “If you can’t stand the heat of the kitchen, leave it”. I had a lot of moments in my life that I learned to leave the places or the situations that made me realize that the heat is too much for me to handle. It’s not that I just give up easily on things, it’s just  when things aren’t right already, I will not spend another second trying to make it right. It is best to get out for awhile, let it cool and try fixing it again.

A lot of things could be solved better if we lower down the heat. Just like in cooking, a very high heat could make food cooked on the outside but raw inside. High heat solutions to problems usually just tackles the problem on the outside but leaves the inside still problematic. Taking it slowly makes you sure that everything will be done just right.

The kitchen is one of the few places where I can exercise my creativity and whenever I exercise it I feel really good. How I wish that soon enough I can exercise this more often. Well enough of the reflections and maybe more on the cooking soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

